Dear diary…the joys of keeping a journal

Two years ago, on the advice of good friend and colleague Dr Mick Collins, I started writing a journal every day. My thoughts often feel like a tangled ball of wool and the knots just get tighter when I try to mentally reason my way forward. A few minutes spent each day writing those thoughts down can help the wool to unravel to a point where knitting something beautiful might be possible.

My journal isn’t a work of literature though, most of the time it is totally boring drivel. As a teenager I kept a diary which mostly consisted of… ‘School was so boring today.’ The interest level hasn’t gone up much, but as I write down how stressed, tired and unhappy I am, the positives also start to emerge. If I feel that I have achieved nothing, writing down what I have done throughout the day can reframe that sense of failure completely. Then there’s the goal setting. If I write down both short and long term goals in the journal then that will help me to stay focused. The writing helps me to realise dreams that I would never have thought possible.

I write out the words of songs that I love or inspirational quotes, maybe something nice someone has said. I have done a few little drawings, but not many, it’s mainly words. Sometimes I just write words of comfort and reassurance to myself. Writing it all down makes the positives more real and can be returned to in moments of doubt. It’s a form of therapy, or maybe just giving myself a good talking to! Occasionally I need that little reminder, ‘It’ll be fine.’

Keeping a journal is a ‘thing’ these days. I followed advice in a ‘How to keep a journal’ guide in the Guardian (where else?) and bought a beautiful unlined book with thick paper and glorious coloured covers. I have filled seven of these now and it has become an addiction. I also followed advice just to write unselfconsciously and not to worry about the quality. I am writing for me, nobody else. Now looking back through the pages I can see how far I have come in 24 months. The goals I set back in 2014 are being realised, some have evolved, but I can see where I am going and I am open to new possibilities.

Here’s the guide from The Guardian; http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2014/mar/22/how-to-start-journal-writing-drawing

More detailed advice here: http://www.creative-writing-now.com/writing-journal.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

